The Threshold’s Installments

The Threshold is a ten-part Weird Fiction story told in 1,000-word bites, give or take a few words. In the tale, Doug, a millennial everyman, finds himself exploring increasingly horrifying worlds trying to return home. All installments written by Jeremiah Dylan Cook.

Part 1 – The Doorway

Doug returns home from work to find a freestanding doorway in his living room

Part 2 – Destruction 

After a terrifying experience on the other side of the threshold, Doug resorts to drastic measures.

Part 3 – Insanity’s Grasp

Due to his erratic behavior, Doug is arrested.

Part 4 – Tasty, Tasty Treat

Trapped in an asylum, Doug and his hallmate become prey for a horrible entity.

Part 5 – Escape 

Doug struggles to escape from the asylum.

Part 6 – Extraterrestrial

In an unfamiliar world, Doug finds a familiar ally.

Part 7 – Back to School

While searching for answers on how to return home, Doug is led to Miskatonic University.

Part 8 – Miskatonic Tunnels 

Doug and his ally suffer a horrible tragedy in the mysterious tunnels beneath Miskatonic University.

Part 9 – The Court of the King in Yellow

In the penultimate installment, Doug is led before the mysterious King in Yellow.

Part 10 – The End? 

Does Doug survive? Does he make it home? The answers are here.